2017-2021: FIBA new competition structure

Starting in 2017 FIBA Asia and FIBA Oceania will merge for qualification events to World Cup and the Olympic Games. For the women and age group teams, this means playing in a one off tournament where the top four teams qualify for the World Championships. For the men there is the 2017-2021 FIBA New Competition Structure which is explained in detail in the videos below. You can also go to the FIBA website here to see more information on the new competition structure.

Global New Competition Structure Overview Asia Zone Structure Overview

What does it all mean?

Men - Tall Blacks
•Guaranteed games within New Zealand
•A worldwide qualification system with the same dates, same format, etc
•Greater commercial opportunities
•Greater costs - Tall Blacks have to be assembled nine times over 25 months (Asia Cup, 6 windows, Commonwealth Games, World Cup)

Women - Tall Ferns
•Asia Championships 2017 – World Cup qualification
•Six teams from Asia, two from Oceania
•Four qualify for the 2018 FIBA World Cup
•Best chance ever to become part of the world elite!

Age Group Teams
•Oceania qualify two to compete in Asia Championships
•Asia Championships qualify four to go to World Championships
In Practical Terms
•2017 Under 17’s at the Under 16 FIBA Asia Championships (qualify to Worlds)
•2017 Under 18’s at the Under 17 FIBA Oceania Championships (three year under 19 World Cup cycle)
•2018 Under 16’s at the Under 15 FIBA Oceania Championships (three year under 17 World Cup cycle)
•2018 Under 18’s at the Under 17 FIBA World Championships
•2018 Under 19’s at Under 18 FIBA Asia Championships (qualify to Worlds)
•Three youth teams every year will be in action – assuming we qualify for the Worlds
•Plus – 3x3 teams.