Craig wins MVP

Craig wins MVP

Wellington Saints guard Torrey Craig has narrowly edged out Zerofees Southland Sharks forward Tai Wesley.for the Bartercard NBL Most Valuable Player.

Craig averaged 22.6 points, 9.9 rebounds, 1.3 blocks, shot 56% from the field and 45% from the three point line for the Wellington Saints. The Cairns Taipans import also won the guard of the year.

Wesley was very close to having the perfect season winning the title last night and Finals Most Valuable Player. The Skycity Breaker won forward of the year averaging 18.1 points, 9.4 rebounds, 1.8 blocks and shot 65.9% from the field.

Saints guard Lindsay Tait won his 9th NZ Guard of the year award and won the NZ Most Valuable Player award for the third time. Tait also won the assists title for third time averaging 8.9 per game.

Mike Pero Nelson Giants forward Josh Duinker was an obvious choice for rookie of the year and was also named New Zealand forward of the year. Duinker averaged 16.7 points, 5.4 rebounds and shot 51% from the field.

Outgoing Southland coach Paul Henare won his third coach of the year award, leading the Sharks to their second title in three years and a record 16 game winning streak.

The Nelson Giants won the team free throw shooting award for the third straight season at 77.1%.

Nelson point guard McKenzie Moore, Sharks guard Todd Blanchfield and Augusta Airs forward Aaron Fuller joins Craig and Wesley in the All Star Five.

2015 Bartercard National Basketball League Awards

Most Valuable Player:   Torrey Craig (Wellington Saints)

NZ Most Valuable Player: Lindsay Tait (Wellington Saints)

Regular Season Winners: Zerofees Southland Sharks

Keith Carr Trophy – Most Outstanding Guard:  Torrey Craig (Wellington Saints)

John Macdonald Trophy – Most Outstanding NZ Guard:  Lindsay Tait (Wellington Saints)

Commissioners Cup – Most Outstanding Forward: Tai Wesley (Zerofees Southland Sharks)

Stan Hill Trophy – Most Outstanding NZ Forward/Centre: Josh Duinker (Mike Pero Nelson Giants)

Garry Pettis Memorial Trophy – Leading Individual Rebounder: Jeremiah Trueman (Breakers Manawatu Jets)

Dave Taylor Trophy – Leading Assists:  Lindsay Tait (Wellington Saints) 

Leading Scorer:  Aaron Fuller (Augusta Airs)

Best Free Throw Percentage: Mike Pero Nelson Giants

Rookie of the Year:  Josh Duinker (Mike Pero Nelson Giants)

Coach of the Year: Paul Henare (Zerofees Southland Sharks)

Referee of the Year:  Tim Brown (Auckland)

Media Award: Logan Savory (Southland Times)

All Star Five 

Torrey Craig (Wellington Saints)

McKenzie Moore (Mike Pero Nelson Giants)

Todd Blanchfield (Zerofees Southland Sharks)

Tai Wesley (Zerofees Southland Sharks)

Aaron Fuller (Augusta Airs)