Remember When? Looking Back On WBC Season 2018

Remember When? Looking Back On WBC Season 2018

New Zealand’s Women’s Basketball Championship (WBC) is set to return in early May with 14 teams over two divisions set to battle for national honours, but before we get started let’s look back on how season 2018 finished.


In a thrilling culmination it was the Otago Gold Rush holding aloft the Division One silverware after toppling the Waikato Wizards, 62-52. Dana Goularte was the star with 22 points, while teenager Charlisse Leger-Walker led the Wizards with 17 points and 12 rebounds.


Highlighting their dominance in the WBC, both Goularte and Leger-Walker went on to be named in the All Star Five, where they were joined by Penina Davidson (Harbour Breeze), Natalie Taylor (Auckland Dream) and Nicole Ruske (Gold Rush).


Goularte also snapped up the Most Valuable Player award for the WBC season, with Leger-Walker grabbing the Junior Player of the Year award. Their dominance over the competition was profound. 


Rounding out the key awards, Todd Marshall (Gold Rush) was crowned the Coach of the Year.


In Division Two the accolades went to North Canterbury Spirit after they edged past Rotorua Lady Vols in the Grand Final, winning 85-57. Charlotte Whittaker and Billie Watson scored 17 points each for the Spirit.


The Division Two All Star Five featured Whittaker and Watson, who were joined by Jelena Vucinic (Nelson Sparks), Aroha Haumaha (Lady Vols) and Caoimhe Colgan (Spirit).


The 2019 WBC season tips-off with a tournament featuring all 14 teams in Christchurch between May 10-12.

More Information:

• Watch selected games from the 2019 Women’s Basketball Championship on the livestream though Facebook @BasketballNZ, hashtag #NZWBC.

 See the draw, results, teams and more at .

 Want to play basketball? Contact your local association through