Basketball New Zealand Awards

Table setting with food and drinks

The Basketball New Zealand Awards (BBNZ Awards) are an annual event that appropriately acknowledge members of our basketball community who have given tirelessly to our sport.

A full review of the BBNZ Award structure was undertaken in 2015 and approved by the BBNZ Board. The award structure has four tiers:

Tier 1: Legends
Tier 2: BBNZ Hall of Fame and exceptional services to basketball awards
Tier 3: Annual awards for service and those currently involved in the game
Tier 4: Long Service, Life Membership and Star Award


Who are the Awards Selection Committee?

The Awards Selection Committee is made up of the following members:

Hilary Carr – New Zealand Basketball Foundation
Bill Eldred – New Zealand Basketball Foundation
Paul Stigley- New Zealand Basketball Foundation
Glenda Taylor- New Zealand Basketball Foundation
David Huxford – Basketball New Zealand (process and compliance only)


2020 Tickets

The Basketball New Zealand Awards is a fully plated event with three course meal, drinks and entertainment. The event has sold out the last two years. This year it will be held on Friday 8 May 2020 at Te Marae in the Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa, Wellington.

Tickets $80. For any inquires or to purchase tickets,  please contact Vicki Lienert by email: or phone 022 183 4886

(The 2020 Basketball New Zealand AGM will take place the following day on Saturday 9 May 2020 at the Grand Mercure Wellington).


More information: