From the Vault | BBNZ Classic Matches #5

Looking for some basketball to watch?

With our tournaments and leagues on a temporary hiatus, we’ve gone through the archives to bring you some classic games from yesteryear to watch!

If you have any games you’d like to see, or have access to recorded games you can share, please let us know by contacting us here.


BBNZ Classic Match #5: 2019 Aon U17 Nationals, Girls Grand Final | Hutt Valley vs. Waikato

Waikato won its third U17 Girl’s Championship in the last five years with a hard earned 70-63 overtime victory against Hutt Valley thanks largely to a haul of 36 points from Tournament MVP Jayze’lee Waihi.

It appeared that Nina Buot’s pair of free throws inside the final minute of regulation time had secured the title for Hutt Valley but a game tying basket from Waikato guard Breeje Schuler with 14.5 seconds left on the clock forced the game into overtime with the scores locked at 59 points apiece.

Industrious Waikato guard Alana Paewai (10 points, 9 rebounds, 5 steals) scored the first four points in overtime, and when Waihi added another four it was clear the title was heading down State Highway 1 to Hamilton.

A nervy opening ten minutes was shaded 16-12 by Waikato with captain Waihi making nine points.

Striving to win their first U17 title Hutt Valley began the second quarter with a 7-0 run with Selai To’ia earning visits to the foul line.

Waihi got the score ticking over again for Waikato and her triple late in the period cancelled out an identical score from Jyordanna Davey – the teams were level (26-26) at half-time.

Five straight points from Tia-Calais Remuera gave Hutt a six-point lead but an 11-3 run from Waikato, with Breeje Schuler (18 rebounds and 9 points) prominent, gave them a narrow 40-38 lead at the three-quarter mark.

Hutt guard D’stani Foley (15 points and 9 rebounds) opened the scoring in the fourth, but the irrepressible Waihi responded with eight straight points for her team as they led 48-47 with under six minutes to play.

Buot’s 11 points in the period looked as if it was enough to secure the championship for Hutt but Waihi and Waikato had other ideas.

Final score:

• Hutt Valley 63 – D Foley 15/9r, N Buot 13, J Davey 10, C Wen 6, P Apineru 2/14r
Waikato 70 – J Waihi 36, A Paewai 10/9r, B Schuler 9/18r, R Anderson 6/9r, L Hemi-Ta’Ala 6

Girls Tournament Team: 

• Reese Anderson – Waikato
• Alana Paewai – Waikato
• Tia-Calais Remuera – Hutt Valley
• Florence Dallow – Harbour
• Jyordanna Davey – Hutt Valley
• Annabelle Ring – Otago
• Odessa Lawson – Waitekere West
• Savannah Cook – Auckland
• Zaaliyah Kailahi-Fulu – Harbour
• Jayze’lee Waihi – Waikato

Tournament MVP:
Jayze’lee Waihi