From the Vault: NBL Classic Matches | #4

Looking for some basketball to watch?

With the Sal’s NBL Men’s and Women’s competitions, along with Women’s D-League, currently looking at Modified Competitions for 2020,  we’ve gone through the archives to bring you some classic NBL games from yesteryear to watch!

If you have any games you’d like to see, or have access to recorded games you can share, please let us know by contacting us here.


NBL Classic Match #4: 1988 NBL Grand Final | Wellington Saints vs. North Shore

Watch as the Wellington Saints, led by Kenny McFadden and Kerry Boagni, claimed their second straight NBL title (and fourth in total), defeating North Shore in a gripping final.

WELLINGTON SAINTS  (81) defeated North Shore (78) | Referees: Keith Milligan & Robin Milligan

10 teams contested the 1988 season (final standings):
: Wellington Saints, North Shore, New Plymouth Bulls, Waikato Warriors, Canterbury Rams, Hawke’s Bay Hawks, Waitemata, Auckland, Nelson Giants and Ponsonby.

All-Star Five:

  • Kerry Boagni (Wellington Saints)
  • Willie Burton (Hawke’s Bay Hawks)
  • Carl Golston (Waikato Warriors)
  • Kenny McFadden (Wellington Saints)
  • John Welch (Waitemata)