Nominations Open for 2023 BBNZ Awards

Nominations are now open for the 2023 Basketball New Zealand (BBNZ) Awards.

The BBNZ Awards are an annual event which celebrates basketball in Aotearoa; acknowledging players, coaches, officials and volunteers for their achievements – either for the 2022 calendar year or in recognition of their basketball careers.

This is an important chance for members of our basketball community – many who have given so tirelessly to the sport over the years – to be recognised in front of their peers, friends and family.


2023 Nominations

Nominations are open from now until 3 March 2023, in the following categories:

Tier 1: Legends

Tier 2: BBNZ Hall of Fame and exceptional services to basketball awards

Tier 3: Annual awards for service and those currently involved in the game

Tier 4: Long Service and Star Award

Member Associations can nominate people for some of these awards, while other awards are proposed by BBNZ, National Coaches or are selected from past recipients of other awards. To find out more and to cast a nomination, go to:


BBNZ Awards Night

The successful award winners will be formally announced at the BBNZ Awards night, to be held at the Banquet Hall at Parliament in Wellington on Saturday 6 May 2023. To find out more and purchase tickets, go to:

Date/time:   6-10pm, Saturday 6 May 2023

Venue: The Banquet Hall, Parliament, Wellington

Tickets: Tickets $90 each or $850 for a table of 10; includes 3 course meal and drinks

Dress: Formal

Tickets: Purchase tickets here. To purchase a table (10 people) email


2023 Award List

  • Legend Award
  • Hall of Fame
  • Sir Lance Cross Award (for Exceptional Services to basketball)
  • Zena Gay Award (for notable contribution to women’s basketball)
  • Murray McMahon Award (for notable contribution to men’s basketball)
  • Male Player of the Year
  • Female Player of the Year
  • Most Valuable Player
  • Carolyn Grey Award for Female Coach of the Year
  • Keith Mair Award for Male Coach of the Year
  • Lance McLoughlin Trophy for Female Junior Player of the Year
  • Ambassadors Trophy for Male Junior Player of the Year
  • Community Partnership Award
  • Community Innovation Award
  • Cedric Cudby Volunteer Award
  • Young Official of the Year
  • Services to Coaching Award
  • Ian Goodwin Services to Officiating
  • Long Service Awards
  • Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Life Membership
  • Star Award