Players vie for Junior Tall Blacks & Junior Tall Ferns selection

The Aon New Zealand Under 19 programme will soon name the men’s and women’s teams ahead of the FIBA Under 18 Asia Championships, with the men’s team likely to be released later this week.

The Junior Tall Blacks will finish a selection camp today in Wellington. The team that will be named will then prepare for their Asia Champs, starting 5 August in Bangkok, Thailand.

The Junior Tall Ferns will have a selection camp at the conclusion of the girls’ Under 17 World Championships, which are in Minsk, Belarus later this month. Head Coach Jody Cameron will also watch a number of longlist players during this week’s WBC tournament in Dunedin, starting 5 July and will be livestreamed on

The Junior Tall Ferns Asian Championships will begin on 28 October in Bengaluru, India.

Aon New Zealand Under 19 Women – Longlist for Selection Camp*
Charlotte Whittaker, North Canterbury
Keeley Tini, Harbour
Olivia O’Neil, Otago
Grace Hunter, Wellington
Lawrin Tipene, Wellington
Leah Mafua, Wellington
Lauryn Mapasua, New Zealand
Emme Shearer, Harbour
Kay-Hauata Phillips, New Zealand
Zoe Ebbitt, Hawkes Bay/Taranaki
Riva Walker-Pitman Waikato
Alex Bennett South
Mareta Davidson Harbour
Ngapipi Herewini Auckland
Sofia Kennedy Canterbury
Jordyn Maddix Harbour
Tessa Talo-Tomokino Harbour
Rosalia Samia Hawkes Bay/ Taranaki
Paris Lokotui Wellington
Te Araroa Sopoaga Wellington
Parehuia Delamere Harbour
Rashaan Smith Harbour
Arielle Williams McKay Waikato
Katie Jones Taranaki
Rochelle Fourie Manawatu
Parris Mason Taranaki
Sophia Harrison Canterbury
Emily Knight Canterbury
Mele Latu WABI
Koha Lewis Waikato

*Once the Under 17 Girls’ FIBA World Cup has concluded, additional players from that squad may be added to the list.

Jody Cameron, Head Coach
Leanne Walker, Assistant Coach
Tim Dennis, Assistant Coach
Kate Lacey, Manager
Peter Lee, Physio

Aon New Zealand Under 19 Men – Longlist for Selection Camp
Joseph Ahie, Wellington
Cooper Boyce-Towler, Palmerston North
Maxwell Darling, Canterbury
Max De Geest, Canterbury
Tama (Isaac) Faamausili, Palmerston North
Kurt Feneon, Canterbury
Taiaroa Flavell, Otago
Nathan Hanna, Otago
Tomas Higgins, Canterbury
Joshua Leger, Auckland
Corban Mason, Waikato
Sam Mennenga, Harbour
Jaga Mete-Smith, Waitakere West
Matthew O’Connell, Taranaki
Oscar Oswald, Palmerston North
Oscar Robertson, New Plymouth
Klein Salmon, Porirua
Lachlan Scott, Palmerston North
Max Shorter, Auckland
Maxim Stephens, Waikato
Thomas Whyte, Auckland
Flynn Cameron, New Zealand
James Moore, Harbour
Kruz Perrott-Hunt, Harbour

Gavin Briggs, Head Coach
Miles Pearce Assistant Coach
Leyton Haddleton, Assistant Coach
Dawn Chambers, Physio
Charles Maaka Manager