U15 National Teams Announced For U15 FIBA Oceania Champs In November

Basketball New Zealand (BBNZ) are pleased to announce the final men’s and women’s squads who will participate in the U15 FIBA Oceania Championships in Guam from 21–26 November.

The U15 Women’s National Team includes: Anaiya Nelson, Bailey Flavell, Eden Tapsell, Emma Rogers, Emma-Kaye Schroeder, Keija Miringaorangi, Kodee Williams-Sefo, Pahlyss Hokianga, Sophia Hickey, Storey Sadler, Waikimihia Douglas-Karauna and Zenthia Stowers.

In addition, Ashleigh Tuumaialu, Graecyn Parahi, Jessie Whinwray, Maggie Manson, Mya Tipene-Tagoai and Anahera Worsfold have been named as reserves. Head coach will be Mel Bennett, supported by Sarah Molisa and Frances Tilly as assistant coaches.

The U15 Men’s National Team will be: Dov Silberstein, Gus Dallow, Hayden Jones, Ihaka Cate, Jameer Reed, Lachlan Crate, Liam Van Der Heyden, Merrick Rillstone, Oscar Goodman, Troy Plumtree, Cooper LePou and James Matthews.

Reserves have been named as Kobe Costley, Hunter Te Ratana, Jackson Ball, Mana Martin, Gift Nyonzima and Krisnan-Cole Ioane. The squad will be helmed by Leyton Haddleton as head coach, with Brent Matehaere and Jason Crummer the assistant coaches.

BBNZ National Pathways Manager, Mel Downer says that this tournament is an important step – both for the athletes and for New Zealand’s Junior National program.

“The U15 National Teams are capping off a busy return to international competition for BBNZ’s Junior National program, and we are excited to see them compete,” says Downer.

“The U15 FIBA Oceania Championships is the first step of qualification to the U17 World Cup in 2024, and it gives our athletes their first real taste of what it means to be an international level athlete – and how they stack up against their peers from other countries.

“We’re hopeful that this is the start of getting back to uninterrupted cycles post COVID19, and we believe that this age group possesses the depth and talent to see out the full three years – so we wish them all the best for this tournament.”

These squad selections follow both the BBNZ National Selection Camp – which was held in Auckland on 24-26 April – as well as the U15 Regional Selection Trials held in October 2021 and January this year.

Both teams will head to Guam in November 2022 for the U15 FIBA Oceania Championships.


U15 Women’s National Team

Anaiya Nelson, Waikato Basketball

Bailey Flavell, Harbour Basketball

Eden Tapsell, Tauranga City Basketball

Emma Rogers, Tauranga City Basketball

Emma-Kaye Schroeder, Harbour Basketball

Keija Miringaorangi, Waikato Basketball

Kodee Williams-Sefo, Harbour Basketball

Pahlyss Hokianga, Basketball Hawke’s Bay

Sophia Hickey, Outside NZ

Storey Sadler, Basketball Hawke’s Bay

Waikimihia Douglas-Karauna, Rotorua Basketball

Zenthia Stowers, Harbour Basketball


Ashleigh Tuumaialu, Counties-Manukau Basketball

Graecyn Parahi, Basketball Hawke’s Bay

Jessie Whinwray, Outside NZ

Maggie Manson, Southland Basketball

Mya Tipene-Tagoai, Hutt Valley Basketball

Anahera Worsfold, Northland

Coaching & Staff

Mel Bennett – Head Coach

Sarah Molisa – Assistant Coach

Francis Tilly – Assistant Coach

Courtney Wilson – Physio

Maine Mareko-Johnson – Team Manager

Dr Courtney Storm – Team Doctor


U15 Men’s team

Dov Silberstein, Wellington Basketball

Gus Dallow, Harbour Basketball

Hayden Jones, Nelson Basketball

Ihaka Cate, Canterbury Basketball

Jameer Reed, Harbour Basketball

Lachlan Crate, Basketball Manawatu

Liam Van Der Heyden, Waikato Country Basketball

Merrick Rillstone, Waikato Basketball

Oscar Goodman, New Plymouth Basketball

Troy Plumtree, Wellington Basketball

Cooper LePou, Waikato Basketball

James Matthews, Nelson Basketball


Kobe Costley, Canterbury Basketball

Hunter Te Ratana, Counties-Manakau Basketball

Jackson Ball, Basketball Hawkes Bay

Mana Martin, Canterbury Basketball

Gift Nyonzima, Basketball Manawatu

Krisnan-Cole Ioane, Hutt Valley

Coaching & Staff

Leyton Haddleton – Head Coach

Brent Matehaere – Assistant Coach

Jason Crummer – Assistant Coach

Jeffrey Huang – Physio

Christina McMillan – Team Manager

Rory Laubscher – Team Doctor