Wellington’s First and Westlake’s Back2Back in AA Champs Finals


It’s been an incredible six days of basketball action in Palmerston North’s Fly Palmy Arena, and now the Secondary Schools AA Champions for 2023 have been found – a massive congratulations to Westlake Girls High School and Wellington College for taking out their respective titles! Westlake secure a Back2Back, winning last year’s AA Championships, and Wellington take out their first title in the history of the Secondary Schools Nationals.


AA Girls Grand Final: Westlake Girls 67, St Andrew’s College 53

In the AA Girls Grand Final, Westlake Girls High School took out a 67-53 win over St Andrews College earn the girl’s title.

Both teams struggled from the field in this one; Westlake shooting 32% (24-73) while St Andrews managed just 25% (22-86) – including a 2-35 effort from beyond the arc. Westlake won the rebounding battle 65-50, but were also guilty of 20 turnovers vs St Andrews 12 on the night, with the latter racking up 12 steals along with 6 blocks. But St Andrews couldn’t contain Westlake’s consistent scoring ability, with the Aucklanders outscoring their opponents in all four quarters.

Westlake was led by a huge 19 points, 18 rebound effort from their captain Rebecca Moors, which earned her MVP. She was supported by 19 points and 6 rebounds from Zenthia Stowers, while Emma-Kaye Schroeder had a 14-points, 10-rebound double-double and Kodee Williams-Sefo chipped in with 8.

For St Andrew’s, Lauren Whittaker was dominant with her 18 points and 19 rebounds, with Rafferty Powell adding 12 points and 9 rebounds. Niamh Chamberlain scored 8 and Ophelia Powell 7, while Kavanah Lene registered 4 blocks.

Box score: http://bbnz.link/ty6nc


AA Boys Grand Final: Waimea College 72, Wellington College 77

In the AA Boys Grand Final, Wellington College emerged victorious over Waimea College with a tense 77-72 win, handing them their first ever Secondary School National title. After Waimea’s Jonty Bond scored on a layup with 13 seconds remaining to bring them to within three, Troy Plumtree slotted home a pair of free throws to seal Wellington’s win.

Both teams were evenly balanced across the major statistical categories; Wellington shooting a better percentage from the field (41% vs 34%) while Waimea outrebounded their opponents 48-42.

Murphy Rodgers led Wellington with his 20 points and 6 rebounds, while MVP Dov Silberstein poured in 17 and Plumtree racked up an impressive 19 points, 13 rebounds (6 offensive) and 4 blocks. Ezekiel Whitfield added 9 points and 7 rebounds, Sam Mastreani with 8.

Waimea was led by Hayden Jones’ 22 points and 15 rebounds, with Kaden Bracey adding 17 points and 7 rebounds. Coen Williams had a double-double with 12 points and 11 rebounds, Bond 11 and Lucas Trench 8 and 6. William Blight also impressed defensively with his 5 blocks.

Box score: http://bbnz.link/tqok4


Most Valuable Players

Girls – Rebecca Moors, Westlake Girls High School

Boys – Dov Silberstein, Wellington College


Tournament Teams – Girls

Waimanu Clarken – Mt Albert Grammar School

Maddie Kerr – Napier Girls High School

Pahlyss Hokianga – Tauranga Girls College

Elise Gilbert – Hamilton Girls High School

Kaelani Albert-Neha – Hamilton Girls High School

Kavanah Lene – St Andrews College

Kodee Williams-Sefo – Westlake Girls High School

Lauren Whittaker – St Andrews College

Zenthia Stowers – Westlake Girls High School

Rebecca Moors – Westlake Girls High School


Tournament Teams – Boys

Dante Matakatea – Mount Albert Grammar School

Jackson Kiss – Auckland Grammar School

Tamatoa Isaac – Christ’s College

Christian Vano – Rotorua Boys High School

Kobe Reed – St Johns College

Jonty Bond – Waimea College

Murphy Rodgers – Wellington College

Hayden Jones – Waimea College

Troy Plumtree – Wellington College

Dov Silberstein – Wellington College